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 Glyph Magic

W
hile many wizards learn to harness 
magic to cast powerful spells, practitioners 
of glyph magic learn to create arcane 
symbols to store their spells for a limited 
time and release them at a moment when 
it is needed. These practitioners are 

commonly known as glyph casters and their practice requires 
both patience and time. Althou gh time-consuming, glyph 
magic has proven valuable in creating arcane protection and 
war.

Glyph Magic Features

Scribe
When you choose this tradition at 2nd level, you gain 
proficiency with calligrapher’s supplies. The calligraphy set 
may function as your spellcasting focus. You also learn two 
languages of your choice. These two languages must have 
connections to magic in some way. Common choices include 
Abyssal, Celestial, Draconic, Infernal, and Sylvan.

Glyph Caster
At 2nd level, you learn a special ritual that involves storing 
a spell in a glyph that is written as part of the ritual. 
Performing the ritual takes ten minutes and requires the 
use of calligrapher’s supplies, or similar tools, which you 
can use to write or carve the necessary glyphs. At the end of 
the ritual, you must cast the spell you intend to store in the 
glyph, expending the appropriate spell slot.

Once the ritual is complete, a spell can be stored in a glyph 
indefinitely. You can only keep as many glyphs prepared 
as your Intelligence modifier. For each glyph that you 
create in excess of what your Intelligence modifier allows, 
your oldest prepared glyph is destroyed, usually in a bright 
flash and smoke.

A prepared glyph can have the spell stored within released 
as a bonus action. Once the spell is released, it takes effect 
as it had just been cast, but with the glyph as the source of 
the casting. However, releasing the spell from a prepared 
glyph does not count as casting the spell on that turn, 
since the actual casting took place during the initial ritual. 
Anyone can release a spell from a glyph by succeeding on an 
Intelligence (Arcana) check against a DC equal to 10 + the 
spell’s level (releasing a cantrip has a DC of 10). The wizard 
who prepared the glyph to begin with automatically succeeds 
on this check.

There are some limitations to what spells can be stored in 
a glyph, and releasing a spell also has some effect on the spell:

• A spell cannot be stored in a glyph if the spell requires 
concentration.

• A spell cannot be stored in a glyph if the spell takes longer 
than an action to cast or if the spell is cast as a ritual.

• A spell always originates from the glyph.
• If a spell has an area of effect, the glyph is always the point 

of origin. You cannot choose the targets of the spell even if 
you normally can.

• Releasing a spell is always a bonus action, even if normally 
casting the spell would be a reaction or an action.

• You must be able to see the glyph to release the spell from 
it, and it must be within 90 feet from you. Anyone else 
attempting to release a spell from your glyph needs to be 
touching the item it is written on.

• If a spell attack roll is required for the spell being stored 
in a glyph, the attack roll has a modifier equal to the 
glyphcaster’s Intelligence + proficiency bonus at the time 
when the glyph is created.

• If the target of the spell is allowed to make a saving throw 
to resist the spell’s effect, the saving throw is made against 
the glyph caster’s spell save DC as it was when the glyph 
was created, not when the glyph was released.

• Releasing a spell always destroys the glyph and the material 
on which it was drawn on, unless it was drawn on a magic 
item.

Augment Glyph
At 6th level, you learn to add empowering features to your 
glyphs, enhancing the effects of the spell stored within. 
When you perform the glyph casting ritual, choose one of 
the empowering features listed below. The spell benefits 
from the feature when it is released from the glyph.

Distant. When you release the spell from your glyph, its 
range is increased by 30 feet.

Empowered. When you roll damage for a spell, you may 
reroll a number of damage dice equal to your Intelligence 
modifier you had at the time when the glyph was created. 
You must use the new rolls.

Linked. You link your mind with the glyph, allowing you to 
release the spell even if you cannot see it, as long as it is not 
more than 240 feet away.

Quickened. You can release the spell from this glyph as a 
reaction instead of a bonus action.

Revisioned. You can change the damage type of a spell. If a 
spell does acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder damage, you 
can make your spell deal another type of damage from the 
same list. If the spell deals more than one type of damage, 
you can change one or both of those types.

Control Glyph
You can include a trigger when you create your glyphs so 
they can release the stored spell without your presence. 
Doing so requires that you adjust the glyph to include 
the exact wording of the trigger. A glyph prepared with a 
trigger has an effective sensory range of up to 30 feet, and 
uses your spell attack modifier if there’s a need to make a 
perception roll.

Glyph MaGic Features
Wizard Level Features

2nd Scribe, Glyph Caster
6th Augment Glyph

10th Control Glyph
14th Entwine Glyph
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Each glyph can only have a single trigger, but that trigger 
can be as detailed and specific as you wish. The spell will only 
release if all the requirements specified by the trigger are 
met. A trigger cannot include an option to choose between 
details in the trigger. A trigger cannot apply to a target that 
is wearing either leather or chainmail armor, for example. A 
trigger will always release the spell if the trigger is present, 
no matter the circumstances.

Entwine Glyph
At 14th level, your ability to create glyphs allows you to 
combine two spells into a single glyph. When you release 
the spells, both of them take effect at the same time. 
Both spells must be cast during the ritual that creates the 
glyph. You cannot add a second spell to an existing glyph. 
When determining how many glyphs you can maintain, 
a dual glyph counts as one. This feature has the following 
extra limitations:

• The spells combined have the shorter duration of the two, 
even if one should normally be longer.

• The two spells must have the same target when released.
• If the two spells have an area of effect, they must both have 

the same shape. If one spell has a smaller area of effect than 
the other, both spells affect only that area, even if the other 
is larger.

• If anyone other that the glyph caster who created the glyph 
attempts to release the two spells, the DC of doing so is 
based on the higher spell level.

Feats for Glyph Magic
If your DM allows the optional feat rule presented in 
Chapter 6 of the Player’s Handbook, these two feats are 
presented as new options for your characters.

Glyph Magician
Requires the ability to cast arcane spells

Your Intelligence increases by 1, to a maximum of 20. You 
learn the ritual to cast spells to be stored in an arcane glyph, 
and you know how to release the spell at a later time. This 
follows all the same rules and limitations as the Glyph Caster 
feature of the Glyph Magic tradition, except that you can 
only maintain one glyph at a time. If you can already create 
arcane glyphs through other means, such as the Glyph 
Caster feature, you can maintain one extra glyph if you also 
have this feat.

Skin Scriber
Requires the ability to create arcane glyphs

You can scribe an arcane glyph onto the skin of living 
creatures that are not constructs. Doing so follows all the 
normal rules of performing the glyph magic ritual, and 
requires the creature to remain still for the duration of the 
ritual. In addition to allowing you to create magical glyphs 
onto skin, the following benefits and restrictions apply to 
those glyphs:

• You can bind a spell that requires concentration into a 
glyph that you make on a creature’s skin. 

• When released, the spell no longer requires concentration 
and the spell will remain in effect for the maximum 
duration unless the spell is ended by another effect, such as 
with a dispel magic spell. 

• The spell must target a single creature or self, and must 
target the creature whose skin the glyph was made on 
when released. 

• The glyph can be targeted by a physical attack. In such a 
case, the glyph has an AC equal to its wearer +2, or +5 if 
it is completely covered by clothing. If the attack deals at 
least 5 hp of damage to the wearer, the glyph is ruined and 
the spell’s effect ends immediately.

You can only release one spell that requires concentration 
at a time. Releasing a second spell from a glyph on your skin 
ends the previous one. You also have no control over the 
spell once it is released, and cannot end its duration early.


